Waterfalls

Waterfalls are wondrous things: the deep roar of them, the visual glory of water cascading over rocks and ledges and plummeting at great speed downwards and the hush of all else in their presence. They are life giving and tell a remarkable tale of the cycle of life. They incessantly worry and wear at the rocks they traverse, gently and ever so slowly moulding them as they rub away at their rough surfaces. Kind of like our Creator does with us! When these waterfalls are discovered after a long walk through a majestic rainforest, there is an added beauty to them. Such was some of the content of the day my husband and I had  together.

We travelled down the South Coast of Sydney to Minamurra Falls, the Abbey in Jamberoo, Robertson’s Pie Shop and other fabulous places. We experienced quiet meditative times such as in front of the Falls and in the Nun’s chapel at the Abbey and we also shared laughter, conversation and food. At the Abbey, I purchased many books which I can’t wait to devour. I hope that, as they usually do when I read spiritual texts, written by brilliant minds dedicated to helping us grow our spirituality, I receive moments of insight and encouragement as I continue on in my spiritual path. I thank God for the people who write these books and the time they have taken in their studies and personal journeying to help open the minds, hearts and spirits of us all. One book was ‘The  Illustrated Rumi’, another was ‘Awakenings’ by Thomas Keating, a Cistercian monk, another ‘Bridges to contemplative living with Thomas Merton’, another Cictercian monk and also two beautifully decorated journals. I am indeed lucky. There were so many blessed moments in this day and I am grateful for every one of them. Life can be wondrous, we just have to show up in the moment and be present.

The sounds in the silence

A slow wearing away of the hard centre

About mindfulness4now

Hello and welcome. I am mother, step mom, wife, daughter, sister, friend. My passions are my spirituality, life and people, reading, meditation and mindfulness, writing/journalling. I also love food, coffee, photography, and travel(near,far and off-road). I also have an interest in health(especially mental health). Welcome to my musings on life's journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Waterfalls

  1. Dilip says:

    A beautiful narration of travel – nature, awakening and gratitude.

  2. What a glorious description of waterfalls! I too love them for similar reasons.

  3. I could almost hear the soothing sounds from your lovely photographs. Thank you for peaceful start to my day!

  4. Your books sound delicious. Know what you mean about wanting to devour them straight away. Is your Rumi, the one with Coleman Barks’ translations – he really is the best, isn’t he… and those illustrations! – a feast for heart and eyes, as well as soul…MIne never leaves my coffee table,. and so many people quietly leaf through it….XXX

  5. brettbatten says:

    Hi Leanne, I just wanted to wish you the season’s best. I hope all is well and that 2013 offers peace and happiness. Take care, Brett

  6. Heyy! You’ve been nominated for the Very inspiring blogger award! You’re worth it! Keep up the good work!
    Details: http://topdip.wordpress.com/2012/12/30/very-inspiring-blogger-award/

Leave a Reply

