Listening-Part 2

The preceding posts have talked about suicide and the importance of listening. In our every day lives we can develop the art of listening. We can listen to our own hearts, souls and minds. We can listen to the others’ hearts, souls and minds. We can listen  for God’s guidance in our lives. We can listen for the lessons we have to learn.

Every so often, I leave a conversation and think to myself, “I talked too much and didn’t listen enough”….I know it’s probably a surprise to you all but I love a good natter!!!!! :). So, I’m not saying we get it right all the time but I think monitoring of self is probably a good thing

Here is a second poem on Listening:

LISTENING TO THE SPACES. By Noel Davis

Spaces have their own lives.

Let them speak.

Listen to them with your eyes

in the quiet of your mind.

Give them the time they need

to tell their stories

for they are the nurseries and pits of life

the fields of strength ready for harvesting

the cultivators of our bigger minds.

We crowd them out to stifle our fears

to douse the pain refining our humanity.

Wonder in the beauty of their being

like the unseen air we breathe

the wind now still.

They hold the silence vibrant with life

the source of all being.

Listen then to their stories

and they will take you

deep into the naked heart of your reality

and there, gift you with new sight.

Be still and Listen

Be still and Listen with your eyes and ears

In the hush of snow is the quiet of our hearts

About mindfulness4now

Hello and welcome. I am mother, step mom, wife, daughter, sister, friend. My passions are my spirituality, life and people, reading, meditation and mindfulness, writing/journalling. I also love food, coffee, photography, and travel(near,far and off-road). I also have an interest in health(especially mental health). Welcome to my musings on life's journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Listening-Part 2

  1. Lovely poem… yes, listening is an art isn’t it. I think it’s one all parents need to learn to be with their children. so that their children know they are being heard. There’s nothing more satisfying than knowing you’ve been heard, I feel….
    I’m very impressed with the research and the amount of thought and work you put into your posts, Leanne XX

  2. Alastair says:

    Not enough people listen to their heart, Doing that can make the hugest difference in their lives.

  3. I think it is for this reason that silence scares people. But silence speaks volumes…if only we will listen…

Leave a Reply

