Listening-Part 1….One Suicide Remedy

I have recently talked about suicide. One of the things I believe is important in life and in the prevention of suicide is listening. To really listen requires one to suspend one’s own agenda; to be fully present; to not be thinking of your reply rather than listening; to be fully and vulnerably open; to be mindful and to be deeply silent.

I think this poem sums it up:

LISTENING By Carolyn Hooper

Please listen to me

Hear what I am saying

Not just the words that come from my mouth

For I can talk and not really say what I mean

Words can be a cover-up, a mask

So listen carefully

I’m crying for help

My heart speaks, pay attention

It takes courage to share with you

And let you see me as I am

It takes time to drop the facade

So stay quiet and listen

Listen with more than your ears

Listen until I’ve said what I ache to say

If you rush me with good advice

And tell me not to worry

I’ll clam up-I’ll think you don’t really understand

I’ll sink deep into myself and hide

So please- accept my problem and take a share

Don’t push it aside as if it doesn’t matter

Be here with me and then I’ll know you’ve truly listened

And heard and understood then-I’ll be comforted”

In the Silence you can really listen and hear the waterfall

In the forest you can hear the silence if you listen

About mindfulness4now

Hello and welcome. I am mother, step mom, wife, daughter, sister, friend. My passions are my spirituality, life and people, reading, meditation and mindfulness, writing/journalling. I also love food, coffee, photography, and travel(near,far and off-road). I also have an interest in health(especially mental health). Welcome to my musings on life's journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Listening-Part 1….One Suicide Remedy

  1. This poem is very telling — we should all takes its message to heart – and not try to fix something before we know what the real problem is–and sometimes we should just listen and be there and then we would not have to fix it

    • Thank you. I have kept it for years in a journal of mine as a reminder that listening is as critical as talking in conversation and sometimes much more important. the need for us to fix is so tempting because it helps rid us of our angst at sitting with the other’s pain. Thank you for your time and comment. Leanne

  2. Alastair says:

    Such a good .. and meaningful poem. Thank you for sharing

  3. A good one – do you know that poem by Beryl Bainbridge – Not waving, but drowning..

    • No I do not know that poem. Wanted to let you know, my friend loves your blog and said she could tell you were a professional writer before she read it. She just reads and doesn’t comment because she’s not a blogger and doesn’t want to use her private email, so I thought I’d let you know. Also, still loving your book…I look forward to my few pages every night. xxxxx

  4. Such great advice, thank you

  5. brusselsislove says:

    Thank you, I needed to ‘hear’ that today.
    Greetings from Bruxelles!
    Marlene

Leave a Reply

