Books, Reading and The Booker Award

I would like to thank Katie at realwomenshealth   http://realwomanshealth.wordpress …… for this Booker Award. Katie ‘s posts are wonderful as she is a passionate follower and researcher of topics relating to health and wellness. Please visit Real Woman’s Health for her blog covering all things about health.

I am a lover of books and reading…I have quite eclectic tastes, from spirituality to murder mysteries to classics to deeply provoking texts. I am even into my second kindle…gasp I hear from all book lovers but let me add…I still buy books in real form and always will. Simply, I was beginning to run out of space and even after donating boxes and boxes to St. Vincent de Paul’s charity and Salvation Army, I still needed more space. I have always dreamed of having a library room with floor to ceiling shelving/cabinetry, deep leather arm chairs, all wrinkled and old from use, with lamps beside,  but five children, meant no library room (even lost my walk-in robe to get the fifth room for the fifth child…I considered putting her bed on a shelf in the walk -in robe but my husband thought that a bit much….so definitely no library)

Books I Have Loved Over the Years ( in no particular order): I’m supposed to only name 5 favourites…ooops

  1. Black Beauty was the first book I remember reading…not being able to put it down. Much later in life a friend purchased me a copy as a gift…loved the re-reading.
  2. Pride and Prejudice…can’t tell you how many times I’ve read and re-read that one (and watched and re-watched Colin Firth as Mr. Darcy)
  3. Henri Nouwen, Thomas Keating,  John Main, Antony de Mello to name but a few authors of spiritual books I adore….plus numerous Buddhist texts by Thich Nhat Han and others
  4. The Little Coffee Shop of Kabul By Deborah Rodriguez
  5. Great Expectations
  6. The Colour of Tea by Hannah Tunnicliffe
  7. Cloudstreet by Tim Winton
  8. Dirt Music by Tim Winton
  9. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
  10. Tolkein
  11. My Heart Wanders by Pia Jane Bijkerk
  12. Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier
  13. Joan Didions the Year of Magical Thinking.
  14. The Help by Kathryn Stockett
  15. Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen
  16. Chocolat by Joanne Harris
  17. Salvation Creek by Susan Duncan
  18. Room by Emma Donoghue
  19. I am David by Anne Holm
  20. Three Cups of Tea by Greg Mortenson
  21. And more more more, can’t list all my friends

Books I am Currently Reading:

The Sound of Water by Valerie Davies…..wonderful so far!

Just One Thing:Developing a Buddha Brain One Simple Practice at a Time by Rick Hanson

Blogs I love:

Again way too many to do this well and I’m going to choose ones I haven’t mentioned before and ones who appear well read in certain areas. Congratulations to them all;

http://micheleseminara.wordpress.com/

http://reflectionsonlifethusfar.wordpress.com/

http://fortyteencandles.wordpress.com/

http://rococonnor.wordpress.com/

http://cristianmihai.net/

About mindfulness4now

Hello and welcome. I am mother, step mom, wife, daughter, sister, friend. My passions are my spirituality, life and people, reading, meditation and mindfulness, writing/journalling. I also love food, coffee, photography, and travel(near,far and off-road). I also have an interest in health(especially mental health). Welcome to my musings on life's journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Books, Reading and The Booker Award

  1. Mondrak says:

    Well done. With the amount that you like reading, it is definitely well deserved

  2. Marianne says:

    Congratulations, well deserved! 🙂

  3. What a friend I have in you!

    • I feel that so much Valerie, that we are really connected. I have to say I’m in awe of the life you’ve lead and your knowledge and writing abilities. If we lived in the same country and met I fear I’d bore you….I’d just want to sit and listen to all you had to say. I’m currently away and hence the delay in response because there’s no internet where I am except for this cafe I found. I’m busy painting an old cottage we own…very hard work but she deserves it (around 60 years old she is ).Bye for now. Leanne

      • I love the picture of your life, painting the cottage and cut off from civilisation – if you can call the internet that!
        Leanne I’d love to meet you and share our thoughts … it’s not what we’ve done, but who we are, and I know that you know that!
        Anyway, it’s amazing how blogging is such a connection…
        don’t get too tired with all the stripping and sanding and painting!
        love valerie

      • Valerie, you are just wonderful. Thanks for that comment…I’m back home now. We managed to keep going and then drove home and straight to a family birthday event which was important for us to attend. Absolutely exhausted now. We have more to do but will do it bit by bit as we can get up there. Regards Leanne

  4. Thanks for nominating me, Leanne! You are most definitely well read 🙂 Is there some kind of post I’m to do like you did?

    • Sorry for the delay in getting back to you…I’m away with out internet connection. Just found a local coffee shop with connection…First of all congrats on the award. If you follow what I did, that’s pretty well it…so name the person who awarded you ie show the way to their site…then nominate 5 others and then talk about books you’ve read and loved ie nominate about 10 books…..Hope that helps. It is a challenge responding to these awards but I see it as a way of connecting us all, of referring others to sites you like and generally sharing about yourself in ways you might not have thought to. Thanks Leanne

Leave a Reply

