A Young Survivor

Last weekend I attended a party where I met a young adult woman who has survived much in her few years. She has been fostered for years by a family who have their own struggles and financial difficulties and yet they have managed to heal her through love.

What struck me most was her vulnerability and her need to connect with others and her determination to not repeat the lifestyle choices of her  family of origin. She begged neither sympathy nor any special treatment.

This young person, at 9 years of age found her mother dead from asthma and other medical conditions. Her grandmother then blamed her (WHAT????) for her mother’s death from these medical problems…yes, she blamed a 10 year old. Instinctively, the young girl knew this to be rubbish but it still wormed it’s ugly way in.

This then left her with her alcoholic father (no big surprise that the grandmother was his mother) who was also physically abusive when drunk.

Finally she was able to leave this situation, only to find she experienced guilt about leaving other family members with the alcoholic father.

She suffers from mistrusting men, a post traumatic stress condition, grief and other stress issues.

She also has courage by the bucket loads, common sense, the capacity to make wonderfully smart decisions like never to drink because of the alcoholism she experinced, and had entered into therapy some time ago. At such an young age she really was an inspiration, someone who decided not to let the past define her and determine her future.

As I was leaving, she came up and thanked me for listening. I looked at her, gave her the biggest hug I could muster and said “No thankyou for sharing and for being inspirational” and I then encouraged her to keep making those brilliant life giving choices.” I felt really blessed to have met her and been in her presence and I will continue to pray for her healing from such emotional and physical savagery.

And therefore, in tribute to the young woman I copy here Emily Bronte’s last poem before she died from tuberculosis in 1848:

‘No coward Soul is Mine’:

‘No coward soul is mine,

No trembler in the world’s storm-troubled sphere:

I see Heaven’s glories shine,

And faith shines equal, arming me from fear.

O God within my breast,

Almighty, ever-present Deity!

Life-that in me has rest,

As I-undying Life-have power in thee!’

Thanks for visiting and I really love your involvement so please feel free to comment. I wish you all well.

About mindfulness4now

Hello and welcome. I am mother, step mom, wife, daughter, sister, friend. My passions are my spirituality, life and people, reading, meditation and mindfulness, writing/journalling. I also love food, coffee, photography, and travel(near,far and off-road). I also have an interest in health(especially mental health). Welcome to my musings on life's journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Young Survivor

  1. It is so inspiring when you meet someone who has overcome such a life story. It’s a portrait of courage when a person dares to rise above it and not fall prey to perpetuating such a life. I’m so glad you shared this, may it inspire others.

  2. jackie376 says:

    You helped and inspired one another. I believe you two met for a reason. 🙂

    • Oh Thanks Jackie but the inspiration was all due one way…She was an amazing young girl and I shared her story for others who may be being held back, as we all are to some extent, by our past. Some get defeated and struggle to rise above. Thanks for taking the time to read and comment. It was lovely talking with you. Leanne

  3. Thank you for this Leanne..Such an inspiring story, and wonderful that the little girl had a loving listener like you. To know that someone has heard and understood is such a comfort. I hope she finds peace of mind, blessings to you both.

  4. Oh Leanne, delighted to hear that you’ve bought my book. Do hope you enjoy it. Many people have said that it’s a perfect book to read in short bursts, so hope you find time ! …yours, Valerie

    • Valerie, I’m already reading your book and loving it….and my life only allows for short bursts of reading so it suits my needs…but what I am seeing so far is that your book is one to be savoured…it’s that type and it’s so beautifully, colourfully, descriptive and fascinating, like the Baranova(did I spell that correctly??)and husband story and how he died so shortly after Vivienne Leigh who had promised to take him with her….so unbelievable but they say life is better than fiction. By the way, if I find a quotable bit and properly reference your book and you…would you be offended, I only mean it as a support and I’ve already read a passage that would suit my blog…. Please be honest, I won’t be offended if you would prefer me not to. Regards Leanne

      • Leanne, I’d be flattered and thrilled.. you know what it’s like, trying to sell a book, everything helps. If you felt you were able to write a review for Amazon, that would be absolutely wonderful, but you may feel that’s a bit much to ask you.

        But the main thing is that you’re enjoying it. Lovely to hear that and to read your perceptive comments, yours valerie

Leave a Reply

