Poetic Insights

Approaching Night

A poem by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow follows. His poem “Night” could equally talk to the effects of meditation. I particularly love the final line “And lo! the ideal hidden beneath, revives.” We can pose this question: what ideal me will be revived if I can but let go of all the extraneousness in my life and be in the silent truth of myself.? Bless you all, I hope you enjoy the poem.

NIGHT

Into the darkness and the hush of night

Slowly the landscape sinks,  and fades away,

And with it fade the phantoms of the day,

The ghosts of men and things, that haunt the light.

The crowd, the clamour, the pursuit, the flight,

Unprofitable splendour and display,

The agitations, and the cares that prey

Upon our hearts, all vanish out of sight.

The better life begins; the world no more

Molests us; all its records we erase

From the dull common-place book of our lives,

That like a palimpsest is written o’er

With trivial incidence of time and place,

And lo! the ideal, hidden beneath, revives.

Yellow Night

Pink Night

About mindfulness4now

Hello and welcome. I am mother, step mom, wife, daughter, sister, friend. My passions are my spirituality, life and people, reading, meditation and mindfulness, writing/journalling. I also love food, coffee, photography, and travel(near,far and off-road). I also have an interest in health(especially mental health). Welcome to my musings on life's journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Poetic Insights

  1. Great poem to illustrate meditation’s positive effects on one. I enjoyed it 🙂

Leave a Reply

