Cockatoo Landing

Kids, what can you do?

I’m nearly ready My Love, Just one more Second
My Dear, Don’t you Love a Sunset ?
Here’s a Kiss for you My Love
Ain’t Love Grand

Cockatoos landed on the rail of our balcony this morning and in the evening. They glided to the most graceful landing, like ballerinas leaping gracefully across the stage and landing on their toes and coming to a dead stop, defying gravity. There were six of them in the end and they preened themselves and each other with a stoic level of concentration and attention. Their wings flared open, white angel wings catching the sunlight. Pure magic. I was there in that moment, absorbed by a vision of these majestic birds and no-one else on the planet was gifted with this moment. It was mine alone. I’m glad I received it and didn’t just brush it off, miss it, take it for granted. I’m so grateful for that moment.

I could have missed this-the old me would have missed this. I would have been living in my head, thinking and analyzing both the past and future and would not have been seated in the moment and so I would have been oblivious to this gift. Life is lived in the present. We cannot change the past (we can learn from it but no amount of thinking will change what has happened) but we can miss the present and its gifts.

Thanks for visiting. Live well.

About mindfulness4now

Hello and welcome. I am mother, step mom, wife, daughter, sister, friend. My passions are my spirituality, life and people, reading, meditation and mindfulness, writing/journalling. I also love food, coffee, photography, and travel(near,far and off-road). I also have an interest in health(especially mental health). Welcome to my musings on life's journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Cockatoo Landing

  1. Beautiful, both the pictures and the text, lovely post, thank you

  2. I nominated you for the Very inspirational Blogger Award. Keep on going.

    • I am still laughing about 2 of your comments “no-one could call me predictable” and “normal is just a setting on the air conditioner. When you can bring laughter and humour to such a place of suffering then you have to be a pretty cool person. Congrats on your grandchild and BTW I too love BMW but I’d choose black. Thankyou for nominating me, I’m extremely grateful and honoured. Go well. Regards Leanne

  3. aaronz92 says:

    I was in the royal national park one time having a bbq and one of these birds actually flew onto my shoulder to see what I was eating! Great photos 🙂

    • Thanks for taking the time to comment. They are great birds aren’t they but they can also be a problem….they tend to chew and destroy our deck….but I just love them and am glad when they visit…..they even eat our dog’s food.

  4. jackie376 says:

    Beautiful photos from one bird lover to another! Just beautiful!

    I have nominated you for a “Lovely Blog Award”… You continue to amaze me with your creativity… Please see my page at http://swervingforbutterflies.com/2012/08/22/a-lovely-blog-award-thank-you/ to accept…
    Congratulations 🙂

    • Jackie thankyou so much. These cockatoos are real monkeys…they chew our timber deck, they eat our dog’s food, they destroy our olive tree getting at the olives, they sqwark outside our window looking for food but I can’t help love them. They are quite magestic. Thanks again for nominating me and congrats to you for your nomination. Keep up blogging as the blogshere needs people with hearts like yours, to keep it’s soul alive.

      • jackie376 says:

        They sound very entertaining, yet quite a handful! They are so photogenic too 😉 I can’t wait to see and here more about them!

      • jackie376 says:

        They sound very entertaining, yet quite a handful! They are so photogenic too 😉 I can’t wait to see and here more about them!
        Thank you for your nice compliment… I feel the same way about your posts as well, really… 🙂

      • Hi Jackie I have just nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award. Congrats and keep on blogging

Leave a Reply

