Darkness and the Lights Go On!!!

Recently we had a blackout. My hubby and I were at the door of our home about to leave for a local restaurant when we were plunged into darkness as the lights to the entire area blacked out. The effects of the blackout were varied:

  1. my hubby announced dinner out was off;
  2. I experienced disappointment and annoyance that he had so quickly and without discussion, made this decision (yes I realize the restaurant would have been in darkness and unable to cook but so what, I figured we could at least wait to see how long it would take for the lights to come back on, before we ruled dinner out….yeh of course all I was concerned about was not having to cook, so OK you saw thru that one!!!!);
  3. my hubby then began to cook a meal for all of us which was possible because we have a gas stove which doesn’t need electricity;
  4. I found my miners headlight ( strange little light one attaches to one’s head which looks like what miners use and we use for when we go camping and are trying to find our way around the campsite without breaking any part of our anatomy) and pranced around the house quite happy with myself (because I didn’t have to cook….and before you judge me wait till you’re cooking for seven every night only to find half of them made other plans and forgot to tell mumsie (that particular avenue of pleasure in parenting is for another discussion);
  5. I began to light all the candles I could find;
  6. One daughter excitedly announced that her friend was coming to pick her up to go for a drive around the area in blackout as both had found the perfect reason to give up on studying (well it is hard to study in total darkness and without computer access but I was shocked they didn’t give it a go being such dedicated students….NOT!!!);
  7. We parents pointed out that it could be over any second so perhaps it was better that she stay home, ready to get back to the studies but that was just laughed out the door;
  8. Daughter 2 arrived home from her part-time work as a receptionist at a local gym, overjoyed about the blackout because she got off early.

The point is, that this mild hiccough in our life, set off a chain of occurrences, responses and feelings. The event was identical for all of us…darkness, but our responses all depended on the differential consequences. For some it was experienced as a gain, for others a loss, but the event was the same.

Oh did I mention how gorgeous our home seemed bathed in the softness of candlelight, the soft shadows flickering around the walls; the quietness, without all the appliances, which gently enveloped the house in the initial stages; the subsequent family chatter as we all gathered together around the candlelit kitchen area as hubby cooked (a rarity in itself…who said that, my evil twin no doubt); the loveliness of this unusual gathering because everyone is usually doing their own thing until dinner is on the table.

In the end we all saw it as a gift, an opportunity for a different pace, aesthetic and connection. You see where I’m going? When any change occurs, big or small, and no matter how painful, if we can accept it, rather than react against it, there is hope…hope for beauty, hope for new connection, hope for new life, new learning. When I put aside my reaction, which was determined by my egoistic needs, and sank into the moment, I found joy, beauty and wonder in what that new moment brought with it. And let’s face it girls, when your man cooks for you and the lights are out, it’s very romantic.

These photos of moons remind me of the Candles in the dark…..thought I’d share them with you and one quote from John Main “Silence and Stillness in Every Season.”:

“In the journey of meditation as we say our mantra and let go of our thoughts and plans and ideas and imaginings, we learn the value of renunciation, of non-possessiveness, we let go of our own images of self, we let go of our own desires, we let go of own fears and our own self-consciousness. The renunciation enables us to enter into communion with the Other and with others at a deep level of reality. The solitude of our meditation is the foundation stone on which we build all communion, with others and with God. It is in the silence of our own heart that we enter into the deep harmony that reveals to us our oneness with all.”

 

About mindfulness4now

Hello and welcome. I am mother, step mom, wife, daughter, sister, friend. My passions are my spirituality, life and people, reading, meditation and mindfulness, writing/journalling. I also love food, coffee, photography, and travel(near,far and off-road). I also have an interest in health(especially mental health). Welcome to my musings on life's journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Darkness and the Lights Go On!!!

  1. I was fascinated to read your story about a black-out – actually so poetic. My blog that’s posted at the moment is also about black -out – in N Zealand – but so different to yours..it’s practical rather than poetic, and yet it was intriguing to see how we touched on the same themes from different angles.Needless to say, it’s your poetic angle that I love.
    http://www.valeriedavies.com

    • Valerie I just went and read yours….funny we were both talking about blackouts and we are both from down south. I love the look of your blog and the colours. I also love the recipes even tho I’m not into cooking, I still read recipes. I loved your piece on literature, Black Beauty and I left a comment on your blog. Thank you so much for visiting and for your lovely comments. Leanne

Leave a Reply

