Sunsets and Letting Go

Horses at Sunset in Cameron’s Corner, Outback Australia

Time to sleep, purchance to dream

I am in awe of the beauty which surrounds us moment by moment and I practice mindfulness and meditation.  Yet, I can still catch myself missing some moments because I may be thinking about something that happened earlier or worrying about the future.

When we hang on to the pain, by going over and over scenarios which belong in the past,  we seem to forget that we have no ability to alter the past. That is, thinking about the ‘what ifs’ of a past situation will not change that past outcome…’if only I’d left earlier, I wouldn’t have missed catching up with her and she may have missed being hit by that car’. This is totally non-productive. I recently read a comment by Kristin Barton @ http://letlifeinpractices.com who also talks about our choices with regards to pain, whether we let it go or hang on. It is a very worthwhile read.

A wonderful book called God Calling, uses the analogy  of the soldier carrying his dead or wounded companions into the next day’s battle. We all know how this would end….the soldier stands no chance of being successful and hugely increases his chance of death. All this rumination does, is to cloud the present with the negative energy from the past  AND cause us to miss such beauty like the sunsets above….so that kind of rumination is like a death, in that it is always killing the present. So if we can let go and move on, we can begin to see and feel the beauty. We can allow it to touch our hearts, we can be more present to those around us and this is far more loving. And dare I say, it is a far more God-centred, spiritual way of living because these are God’s gifts to us and to see and appreciate them is a small return from us.

Beauty has the capacity to heal us, to demonstate that life has gifts for us every second. They are freely given and available to us, no matter what our personal life may look like in the moment.

Choose to watch a sunset or sunrise and just try and not feel lifted, try and not feel like wondrous things can occur!

As you watch either a sunset or sunrise, try to remember that they are life’s blinding statement that things end and new beginnings are around the corner…they are an every day phenomena screaming at us to have hope.

So, if you are currently feeling low, begin to meditate on these truths. Life does move on, the sun will set on your problems and it will also rise on a happier and changing day. To those ties to the past that have bound you in pain, take an ‘imaginery’ pair of scissors and cut them, breathe deeply and imagine they can no longer bind you, cutting off life’s enormous supply.

When my first marriage ended, I could never have forseen the happiness and gifts and joy which were around the corner. None of us can see around the corner, but if we remain blindfolded by hurt or anger, bitterness or fear or whatever emotion may be blinding us…we may be causing the very lack of change in our circumstances, that we are hoping for.

Kind Regards Leanne

PS. Thank you to all of you who have visited my blog, left a message or a Like. I really appreciate your kindness.

About mindfulness4now

Hello and welcome. I am mother, step mom, wife, daughter, sister, friend. My passions are my spirituality, life and people, reading, meditation and mindfulness, writing/journalling. I also love food, coffee, photography, and travel(near,far and off-road). I also have an interest in health(especially mental health). Welcome to my musings on life's journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sunsets and Letting Go

  1. brettbatten says:

    I`m not sure which I liked more, the clouds in the sunset photo which appear almost 3 dimensional or your words which are far from flat as well. Great writing and thanks for taking so much time with my blog. Brett

Leave a Reply

