Small Giftings

ImageSome really wonderful, miraculous things can happen when you choose to notice and attend to the universe and God’s supply. (Just take a peek at those gorgeous creatures above….giraffes we fed at Dubbo Zoo, as an example of the beauty we are supplied)

For a couple of months I have been trying to remember the name of an author, from many years ago, whose works I loved reading and who taught me many mind and heart changing views. I even phoned a few friends to see if they could provide the name but each time I drew a blank. This week I attended a four evening spiritual event which was quite wonderful. It was run by a guy from Perth who hosts a television program called the Catholic Guy.  It challenged me in a few areas of my spiritual life. One of these was to for me to increase my attention to God’s presence or spiritual connections occurring in my life, every day and every moment. Though I consider myself a strongly spiritual person, still my attention and awareness of all things spiritual can wane. To this end, 3 months later, I received a phone call from a friend who was talking about general goings on in her life. In the middle of the conversation she added that she was reading this book which was full of great wisdom and did I know an author called Anthony de Mello. I just let out a high decibel whoop, no doubt causing her great shock and discomfort.  “Thank you, thank you, thank you”, say I to a now completely confused friend. “I have been searching for that name, I even tried to find my old notebook containing the notes I took from his DVDs I watched years ago. And out of the blue you say his name, the name I have been searching for over the last months.”  So just like that, the universe, my God, provided me the name.  The likelihood that this particular friend would have provided that name was completely unexpected as she was the last of my friends I would have even asked about Anthony de Mello. In fact, the only reason she had the book was because she had unexpectedly found it in a second bookshop when she was looking for something else. So it was God, the universe, providing.

I guess whether or not you believe in a God, or a Creator, or a Being or the Universe, it pays to attend to the small gifts which come our way because then you get this extra bonus of excitement, knowing and recognizing that the thing you put out there was given to you…and from this you can only conclude that YOU ARE LOVED and CHERISHED

Bye for now Leanne

About mindfulness4now

Hello and welcome. I am mother, step mom, wife, daughter, sister, friend. My passions are my spirituality, life and people, reading, meditation and mindfulness, writing/journalling. I also love food, coffee, photography, and travel(near,far and off-road). I also have an interest in health(especially mental health). Welcome to my musings on life's journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Small Giftings

  1. Maria says:

    The small precious moments in ordinary life create the most amazing insights.

    • Thankyou Maria, it’s so true and it’s registering and noticing these moments which can hold the key to joy and living life to the fullest. Thanks for visiting, I really appreciate it and may your day be full of wonderful moments. Regards

  2. beebeesworld says:

    Beautiful site-thanks for the comment on my son. I will always feel if he had been given prompt medical attention, he’d be here. I blame myself for not acting when the ambulance was so slow-fire station in sight of the ball field-a “nurse” ran up but did nothing..No I would know I should have been giving him chest compressions at the first sight of him unresponsive. Read my article on Parents Heart Watch, SwitterB & Fly Fishing has a video about how to use a portable defibrillator…There is no reason my son shouldn’t be celebrating his 21st birthday in a few weeks. There are no words for what I endure every day. If you can take a course in chest only resuscitation, or how to use a portable defibrillator, you may be the one who saves a life. .Thanks for reading my blog, I hope you will follow me. I will follow your blog as well and look forward to reading more. beebeesworld

    • Thankyou so much…I have done the training for resusitation and actually participated in a resusitation of our neighbour. He survived the heart attack but I often think it may have been more due to the prayers I prayed at the time because the ambulance officer told me later that it was highly unusual to bring someone back from an attack like that. My heart goes out to you.

      • beebeesworld says:

        Thanks for your comment on the heart issue-as for me-months of prayers for my son, who i just “felt something was wrong” around-didnt work-proper medical would have. best wishes, beebee

Leave a comment