Pop Goes the Weasel! Away with the worries.

Hello and welcome. A few months ago my head was full of problems as I headed to bed. I felt overwhelmed. I almost dreaded lying down because I feared being alone, with no distractions from the thoughts about the problems. Then I saw clearly, it is not the problems themselves but my thoughts about them which threatened me. I decided to put them aside and lay in the silence. I remembered to let go, to give the worries to the universe and instead to come home to myself and to the God of my understanding. I lay in silence, I felt my breath, I felt and heard the silence, I lay with that. I used my meditation mantra ( a four syllable phrase or word, repeated over and over eg ‘I am at peace’) as a disciplined reaction and counter to the thoughts returning. When the thoughts invaded, I returned again and again to the mantra. So, Pop went the Weasel (ie.worries).

In this space I am free. I am not my problems. I am not my thoughts about my problems. My life is more precious and larger than this restrictive view I can get caught in. I can draw on all sorts of help but letting go is the first step towards the solution. I felt more peaceful. I fell asleep and slept deeply.

I want to be clear, in the morning the concerns were still there but the point here is, going around and around the worries, as I was trying to sleep, was completely unhelpful as it changed nothing and it prevented my getting the sleep I probably needed, to deal with the concerns. Sure, I needed to give time and thought to my problems but I needed to do that at a chosen time and then leave it alone…and before sleep was not a good chosen time…is planning swimming lessons wise after you have fallen off the boat. I don’t think so. Another tactic, if the worries crop up at night, is to write the concerns on paper in point form and leave them there. Then try the mantra.

I have also tried picturing an image, a peaceful place and calling to mind the sights, sounds, textures, smells and tastes associated with that image. This is a great stress blocker. I’ll leave you with a few photos which you might be able to use.

Thanks Leanne

About mindfulness4now

Hello and welcome. I am mother, step mom, wife, daughter, sister, friend. My passions are my spirituality, life and people, reading, meditation and mindfulness, writing/journalling. I also love food, coffee, photography, and travel(near,far and off-road). I also have an interest in health(especially mental health). Welcome to my musings on life's journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

