What a Wonderful Winter Weekend- My First Post

How often do we pause and consider our blessings? We move through our days so quickly that we can actually miss the specialness in life’s moments. We might miss a smile, someone’s gift to us, because we are lost in our thoughts and not actually present to the moment. We can be continually thinking about this and that, known in some circles as the ‘monkey mind’ (our internal monologuing that runs continually ) and not be in the moment. This means we are not in our life as it is happening and that means we miss the joys.

As this is my first ever blog I want to share some of the joys of this past week in the hope that by sharing I can help others to find joy by expanding their presence in the moments of their life. Before I do I’d like to share this poem by Mary Oliver, which expresses this very thing:

Mindful

Every dayI see or hear

something

that more or less

kills me

with delight,

that leaves me

like a needle

in the haystack

of light.

It is what I was born for –

to look, to listen

to lose myself

inside this soft world –

to instruct myself

over and over

in joy,

and acclamation.

Nor am I talking

about the exceptional,

the fearful, the dreadful,

the very extravagant –

but of the ordinary.

the common, the very drab,

the daily presentations.

Oh, good scholar,

I say to myself,

how can you help

but grow wise

with such teachings

as these –

the untrimmable light

of the world

the ocean’s shine

the prayers that are made

out of grass?

– by Mary   Oliver,

from   “Why I Wake Early”

So, my wonderful weekend of  joy which was enhanced by my being mindful, was a visit and stay in Kangaroo Valley, with my husband and another couple. This place, south of  Sydney, is a place created for a winter visit. It is a valley of lush vegetation,  divided into many farms and surrounded by mountains. It has a river running  through it. It has a little township where one can sit and share good food and coffee and fresh air. It washes away the hustle and bustle of city life. We stayed in a large home on acreage which had wonderful, expansive views of fields, mountains, cattle, orchards, a rose garden, a dam and of course, a fire. Not to mention the spa outside the back door, under the sky and looking over the fields!!! Suspended over the dam was a small, timber deck with timber chairs and a table. Sitting on that deck alone, I became so aware of the silence around me and could feel the beauty began to seep into my soul. The crisp air, the smells, the light and occasional puff of wind on my face, the different shades of green, the gentle sound of frogs around the dam, the   laughter from up at the house, the smell of moist earth, the sound of a car passing along the road below, birds chirping, a kookaburra laughing, the blueness of the sky, the whiteness of the clouds, the feeling of the chair  behind and under me, the one white rose hanging limply on the bush, the arbour covered in vines, the sun glinting on the windows behind me. I could go on and on.

I could have sat and thought about work or home or family or any one of many   worries but chosing to be in the present is a leaving behind of this constant   thinking and deciding to see, taste, feel, hear, smell the world right this second. If you do, you can be delighted by its gifts and freed from the past and future.

To those who may read my blog, I would be happy to hear from you and I wish you a life full of the most wonderful moments, because, even when life may feel like a struggle, you can leave those behind at times for the freedom and   joys that life can offer you, the moment you chose to notice. Below are a few of my photos of this weekend.

Pink Wonderland

A moment of morning beauty

A Moment of Morning Beauty

Contemplation Deck

Contemplation Deck

Bye for now

Be Mindful and Present
Leanne

About mindfulness4now

Hello and welcome. I am mother, step mom, wife, daughter, sister, friend. My passions are my spirituality, life and people, reading, meditation and mindfulness, writing/journalling. I also love food, coffee, photography, and travel(near,far and off-road). I also have an interest in health(especially mental health). Welcome to my musings on life's journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What a Wonderful Winter Weekend- My First Post

  1. Paul says:

    Very peaceful and descriptive, congratulations on your first blog.

  2. nyparrot says:

    Yes, I agree – beauty is in simple things, and magic – in seemingly ordinary moments!

  3. Karen says:

    Thanks for reminding us to savor those beautiful moments and to connect with everything around us.

Leave a Reply

